Support for Teachers

This Grants in Place-funded Illinois student-driven soil investigation project is a wonderful example of the community-based work being done by our grant recipients and their students.

Support for Teachers

We believe in the power of teacher-leaders.

The Rural Schools Collaborative believes teacher-leaders have the power to transform rural communities. We support this concept through our Grants in Place program, Rural Teacher Corps initiative, place-based education resource compilation, and I am a Rural teacher, a peer networking community.

  • Grants in Place is a modest grant program that encourages rural school district teachers across the country to engage their students in place-based learning. We believe that place-based education gives meaning to learning, strengthens the bonds between school and community, and instills pride in the cultures and histories of rural places and small towns. Learn more!
  • The Rural Teacher Corps addresses the question of how to recruit, prepare and place outstanding rural teacher-leaders? Learn more.
  • We stress the important role of place and to student learning and successful rural schools. We share resources support place-based engagement. Learn more.
  • I am a Rural teacher is an initiative to connect, empower, and share the voices of rural educators from across the nation. Teachers can share ideas, stories, and best practices that are relevant to the rural school perspective. It is easy to join this active Facebook group!

Check out more ways to Get Involved with the Rural Schools Collaborative community or contact us today at

We invite you to spend a minute viewing the short film below. This is who we are; this is what we believe!