Oregon Rural Teacher Corps at EOU names next cohort

October 24, 2023 |

Rural Schools Collaborative is passionate about the recruitment and retainment of rural teachers, particularly through the funding and implementation of rural teacher corps programs. This article comes from our partners at Eastern Oregon University, highlighting their new Oregon Rural Teacher Corps cohort. It was originally published on the EOU website.

LA GRANDE, Ore. – Teach Rural Oregon and the Eastern Oregon University College of Education are pleased to announce the selection of the second class of the Oregon Rural Teacher Corps (ORTC). ORTC originated as part of a catalyst grant partnership with the Rural Schools Collaborative in order to provide peer support, travel money, classroom supplies, professional development, and financial assistance to a select group of current EOU Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) candidates who choose to teach in rural and underserved communities in Oregon.

Funding for the ORTC is provided through generous grants from the following organizations:

  • Teach Rural Oregon/EOU College of Education in partnership with Wallowa Region 18 ESD, the Oregon Department of Education, and the Educator Advancement Council
  • The Roundhouse Foundation

The program runs through the 2023-24 academic year and will conclude with a formal celebration at the end of the academic year during graduation weekend in La Grande in mid June.

The initial class includes 10 candidates from throughout the state of Oregon.

  • Ollie Baker, an instructor at Warrenton High School in Warrenton, Oregon
  • Garret Beckman, an instructor at Imbler Jr/Sr High School in Imbler, Oregon
  • Micah Grogan, an instructor at Taft Jr/Sr High School in Lincoln City, Oregon
  • Karina Diaz Lara, an instructor at Central Middle School in Milton-Freewater, Oregon
  • Logan Nedrow, an instructor at Powder Valley School in North Powder, Oregon
  • Kaleb Rainsberry, an instructor at Haines Elementary School in Athena, Oregon
  • Nicole Ryan, an instructor at Dufur School in Dufur, Oregon
  • Lonnie Slapinski, an instructor at Elgin Jr/Sr High School in Elgin, Oregon
  • Killian Sump, an instructor at Burnt River School in Unity, Oregon
  • Scott Wardwell, an instructor at Amity High School in Amity, Oregon

Please direct any questions or requests for information to Dave Dallas, Teach Rural Oregon Director at ddallas@eou.edu or 541-962-3535.

More information about Teach Rural Oregon and its various programs is available here https://www.eou.edu/teach-rural-oregon/

More information about the College of Education at Eastern Oregon University and its various programs is available here https://www.eou.edu/college-of-education/

Previous ALL NEWS Next