Board of Directors

The Rural Schools Collaborative (RSC) directors are all volunteers deeply committed to the mission of the organization. RSC's genesis was a June 2014 meeting in St. Louis, where participants discussed the need for a "rural school and community" organization that "thinks otherwise." Since that time board members have been integrally involved in the planning and subsequent launch of the Collaborative.

David Ardrey

David Ardrey, Executive Director, Association of Illinois Rural and Small Schools, Carbondale, Illinois. David is a board chairman emeritus.

Jim Beddow, Ph.D.

Jim Beddow, Ph. D., Co-Founder, Rural Weaver Consulting and President Emeritus, Dakota Wesleyan University. Jim is vice chairman.

Renee Carr

Renee Carr, Chief Financial Officer, Rural Community Alliance, Fox, Arkansas. Renee serves as the 2016-17 board chair for the RSC board.

Andrea E. Evans, Ph.D.

Andrea E. Evans, Ph. D., Dean, College of Education, Governors State University, University Park, Illinois

Gary Funk

Gary Funk is an ex-officio member of the board and is currently serving as the organization's director from Cambridge, Wisconsin.

Joshua D. Gibb

Joshua D. Gibb, Executive Director, Galesburg Community Foundation, Galesburg, Illinois. Josh currently serves as board secretary.

Lavina Grandon

Lavina Grandon, President and Policy and Education Director, Rural Community Alliance, Everton, Arkansas

Julie Leeth, Ed.D.

Julie Leeth, Ed. D., Executive Vice President, Community Foundation of the Ozarks, Springfield, Missouri. Julie serves as board treasurer.

Carol Silvey

Carol Silvey, Senior Associate for Advancement, Community Foundation of the Ozarks, West Plains, Missouri